Archive

A Season Of Daring Greatly by Ellen Emerson White

When eighteen-year-old Jill Cafferty makes history as the first woman to be signed by a major league team, she goes head-to-head against coaches, players, and fans who are determined to keep baseball an all-male sport. The first step? Proving she’s talented enough to be there. An engrossing story about defying conventions and living up to impossible expectations, for fans of John Corey Whaley and Catherine Gilbert Murdock. Jill Cafferty just made history as the first woman signed by an MLB…

Read More

Forever, Or For A Long, Long Time by Caela Carter

An achingly beautiful story in the vein of Rebecca Stead and R. J. Palacio about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home.   Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever. So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey…

Read More

One Amazing Elephant by Linda Oatman High

In this beautifully written, poignant middle grade novel, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan, Lily mourns the death of her grandfather with the help of his circus elephant, Queenie Grace.   Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s elephant, Queenie Grace. Queenie Grace, a circus elephant, is happy to…

Read More

Foxheart by Claire Legrand

For fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones, Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . . . even if it means risking your heart. Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox—and Sly Boots, the shy boy who…

Read More

The Secret Of A Heart Note by Stacey Lee

An evocative novel about a teen aroma expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to mix perfumes that help others fall in love while protecting her own heart at all costs. Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render…

Read More

Replica by Lauren Oliver

From a distance, the Haven Institute, tucked on a private island off the coast of Florida, looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, it is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed. But when a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects–Lyra, or 24, and the boy known only as 72–manage…

Read More

Mice Of The Round Table: A Tail Of Camelot

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice. Young mouse Calib Christopher dreams of the day when he will become a Knight of Camelot like his father and grandfather before him. For generations, Calib’s family has lived among the mice that dwell in Camelot, along with the human Knights of the Round Table, defending the castle they all call home.…

Read More

Five Elements: The Emerald Tablet by Dan Jolley

I name myself water. I name myself air. I name myself earth. I name myself fire. When Gabe and his friends find a strange old map in his uncle’s office, follow it to a crumbling secret chamber beneath San Francisco, and perform a ritual that promises to bind them together forever, they think they’re just having one last adventure before Gabe moves away. It’s not like they believe the “power of the elements” is real. But then things begin to…

Read More

Pete The Cat And The Missing Cupcakes by James Dean

Pete the Cat and his friends have a mystery to solve. Who is stealing their cupcakes? Pete the Cat and his friends are baking cupcakes for a cupcake party. But, oh no! Some of the cupcakes have gone missing! Who could have taken them? In this latest Pete the Cat picture book adventure, Pete and the gang solve the mystery of the missing cupcakes and learn that it’s cool to be kind.

Read More

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

Sabriel meets Romeo and Juliet in this stunning and atmospheric novel about a doomed world and the only two people who can discover the secrets to saving it—from the author of Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound.   When the mysterious fog of the Ruining crept over the world, the living died and the dead rose. Only the walled city of Viyara was left untouched. The heirs of the city’s most powerful—and warring—families, Mahyanai Romeo and Juliet Catresou share a love…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field