lindadevlin

When You Are Brave by Pay Zietlow Miller

An inspiring picture book affirmation about having courage even in difficult times, because some days, when everything around you seems scary, you have to be brave. Saying goodbye to neighbors. Worrying about new friends. Passing through a big city. Seeing a dark road ahead. In these moments, a young girl feels small and quiet and alone. But when she breathes deeply and looks inside herself, a hidden spark of courage appears, one she can nurture and grow until she glows…

Read More

Because by Mo Willems

Mo Willems, a number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator, composes a powerful symphony of chance, discovery, persistence, and magic in this moving tale of a young girl’s journey to center stage. Illustrator Amber Ren brings Willems’ music to life, conducting a stunning picture-book debut.

Read More

Internment by Samira Ahmed

Rebellions are built on hope.   Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens. With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp’s Director and his guards. Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence…

Read More

The Next Great Paulie Fink by Ali Benjamin

In this highly anticipated second novel by the author of the award-winning, bestselling The Thing About Jellyfish, being the new kid at school isn’t easy, especially when you have to follow in the footsteps of a classroom prankster like Paulie Fink. When Caitlyn Breen enters the tiny Mitchell School in rural Mitchell, Vermont, she is a complete outsider: the seventh grade has just ten other kids, and they’ve known each other since kindergarten. Her classmates are in for a shock…

Read More

On The Come Up by Angie Thomas

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give. Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her first battle. As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got massive shoes to fill. But it’s hard to get your come up when you’re labeled a hoodlum at…

Read More

Chicken Talk by Patricia MacLachlan and illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

From Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan and New York Times bestselling illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes a cheeky and heartwarming picture book about chickens who scratch messages around the farm for their humans to find—resulting in surprise, chaos, and plenty of fun. The chickens on the farm have a lot to say to their farm owners! They’re tired of arugula salad; HEY—watch out for that snake in your tent!; and We love you. As the children walk around their beloved…

Read More

The Field Guide To The North American Teenager by Ben Philippe

A contemporary teen #ownvoices debut from Ben Philippe about cranky, clever, and ultimately endearing Norris Kaplan as he moves from his native Montreal to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys and clichés of the American high school experience—most notable of which is falling in love. Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving…

Read More

The Unteachables by Gordon Korman

A hilarious new novel from bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—and they end up saving each other. Perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day. The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in this class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables…

Read More

Horse Meets Dog by Elliot Kalan and Tim Miller

Hilarity ensues when Horse and Dog meet—and mistake each other for the wrong animal. This is a brilliant collaboration from a writer for The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and the acclaimed illustrator of Moo Moo in a Tutu. Horse is just an oversized dog with funny paws . . . according to Dog. And Dog? Just a tiny baby horse with a weird tail. That’s what Horse thinks, anyway. Elliott Kalan and Tim Miller team up in this clever…

Read More

Winter Is Here by Kevin Henkes

From award-winning husband-and-wife team Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek, Winter Is Here is the companion to the acclaimed and best-selling When Spring Comes and In the Middle of Fall. Explore the sights, sounds, and smells of the season in this breathtaking ode to winter. Snow falls, animals burrow, and children prepare for the wonders winter brings. With a simple and poetic text, Kevin Henkes teaches basic concepts of language and the season while Laura Dronzek’s stunning paintings beautifully capture the…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field