lindadevlin

Left Out by Tim Green

A heartfelt and moving novel from former NFL player and New York Times bestselling author Tim Green about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. All Landon Dorch has ever wanted was to be like everyone else. His deafness and the way he talks have been obstacles all his life. But now, he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new…

Read More

Plant The Tiny Seed by Christie Matheson

Just as she did in Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, Christie Matheson combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Beautiful collage and watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of…

Read More

The Ethan I Was Before by Ali Standish

Ali Standish’s middle grade novel is a charming and captivating story about friendship, grief, and forgiveness. After Ethan loses his best friend and moves from Boston to small-town Georgia, he discovers that life can be transformed in one moment, but that one moment doesn’t have to define him for life.Ethan had been many things: Adventurer. Boston Red Sox fan. Sidekick to his big brother, Roddie. Coconsipirator with his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident and the…

Read More

Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly’s third novel for tweens is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, andfinding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree. In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset,…

Read More

Moo by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s new novel, told in a mix of poetry and prose, follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow, named Zora. It’s a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. When twelve-year-old Reena, her little brother, Luke, and her parents move from the city to rural…

Read More

The Poet’s Dog by Patricia MacLachlan

From Newbery Medal winner Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant story about two children, a poet, and a dog and how they help each other survive loss and recapture love.Teddy is a gifted dog. Raised in a cabin by a poet named Sylvan, he grew up listening to sonnets read aloud and the clicking of a keyboard. Teddy understands words, but Sylvan always told him there’s only two kinds of people in the world who can hear him: poets and children.Then…

Read More

Grandpa’s Great Escape by David Walliams

Something strange is happening in Alfie’s town. Instead of shiny coins from the tooth fairy, kids are waking up to disgusting, icky, TERRIBLE things under their pillows. Dead slugs. Live spiders. Hundreds of creepy, crawly earwigs! Who would do something so horrific? It couldn’t be Miss Root, the new dentist in town, could it? Alfie is determined to solve this mystery—but if he wants to stop the demon dentist, he may have to book an appointment with Miss Root! Full…

Read More

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed”Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen Mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked…until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised…

Read More

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There’s no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again. Crenshaw is a cat. He’s large, he’s outspoken, and he’s imaginary. He has come back into Jackson’s life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything? Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that…

Read More

Upside-Down Magic by Sarah Mlynowski, Lauren Myracle and Emily Jenkins

It’s never easy when your magic goes wonky. For Nory, this means that instead of being able to turn into a dragon or a kitten, she turns into both of them at the same time – a dritten. For Elliott, the simple act of conjuring fire from his fingertips turns in a fully frozen failure. For Andres, wonky magic means he’s always floating in the air, bouncing off the walls, or floating on the ceiling. For Bax, a bad moment…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field