lindadevlin

On The Come Up by Angie Thomas

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give. Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her first battle. As the daughter of an underground hip hop legend who died right before he hit big, Bri’s got massive shoes to fill. But it’s hard to get your come up when you’re labeled a hoodlum at…

Read More

Chicken Talk by Patricia MacLachlan and illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

From Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan and New York Times bestselling illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes a cheeky and heartwarming picture book about chickens who scratch messages around the farm for their humans to find—resulting in surprise, chaos, and plenty of fun. The chickens on the farm have a lot to say to their farm owners! They’re tired of arugula salad; HEY—watch out for that snake in your tent!; and We love you. As the children walk around their beloved…

Read More

The Field Guide To The North American Teenager by Ben Philippe

A contemporary teen #ownvoices debut from Ben Philippe about cranky, clever, and ultimately endearing Norris Kaplan as he moves from his native Montreal to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys and clichés of the American high school experience—most notable of which is falling in love. Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving…

Read More

The Unteachables by Gordon Korman

A hilarious new novel from bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—and they end up saving each other. Perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day. The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in this class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables…

Read More

Horse Meets Dog by Elliot Kalan and Tim Miller

Hilarity ensues when Horse and Dog meet—and mistake each other for the wrong animal. This is a brilliant collaboration from a writer for The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and the acclaimed illustrator of Moo Moo in a Tutu. Horse is just an oversized dog with funny paws . . . according to Dog. And Dog? Just a tiny baby horse with a weird tail. That’s what Horse thinks, anyway. Elliott Kalan and Tim Miller team up in this clever…

Read More

Winter Is Here by Kevin Henkes

From award-winning husband-and-wife team Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek, Winter Is Here is the companion to the acclaimed and best-selling When Spring Comes and In the Middle of Fall. Explore the sights, sounds, and smells of the season in this breathtaking ode to winter. Snow falls, animals burrow, and children prepare for the wonders winter brings. With a simple and poetic text, Kevin Henkes teaches basic concepts of language and the season while Laura Dronzek’s stunning paintings beautifully capture the…

Read More

The Light Between Worlds by Laura Weymouth

This YA fantasy debut by Laura E. Weymouth asks the question: What happens after you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust. Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just…

Read More

Knights VS. Dinosaurs by Matt Phelan

From acclaimed author and artist Matt Phelan, Knights vs. Dinosaurs is a hilarious, rip-roaring tale of derring-do. In this heavily illustrated middle grade adventure, the Knights of the Round Table take on their most dangerous opponents yet—DINOSAURS! In a starred review, Kirkus said, “Epic—in plot not length—and as wise and wonderful as Gerald Morris’ Arthurian exploits.”Let me tell you a secret about the Knights of the Round Table: they don’t actually have much to do. The realm is at peace…

Read More

A Very Large Expanse Of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series comes a gorgeous and heartrending contemporary novel inspired by her own experiences with first love, breakdancing, and the devastating impact of prejudice. It’s 2002, a year after 9/11, and Shirin has just started at yet another school. It’s an extremely turbulent time for the world, but especially for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped. Shirin is never surprised…

Read More

She’s Got This by Laurie Hernandez

From bestselling author of I Got This and Olympic gold medalist Laurie Hernandez comes a fictional picture book about a little girl gymnast who dreams of making it big. This fictional story—inspired by parts of Laurie’s real life—is about a young girl named Zoe who sees a famous gymnast performing on TV and decides she wants to fly just like her. Zoe begs her parents to start her in gymnastics classes, and she quickly learns to tumble and roll and…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field