lindasstory

Refugee by Alan Gratz

A tour de force from acclaimed author Alan Gratz (Prisoner B-3087), this timely and powerful novel tells the story of three different children seeking refuge. JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . . ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out…

Read More

Not If I Save You First by Ally Carter

Bestselling author Ally Carter returns with an exciting stand-alone novel, about a girl stranded in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness with the boy who wronged her… as an assassin moves in. Maddie thought she and Logan would be friends forever. But when your dad is a Secret Service agent and your best friend is the president’s son, sometimes life has other plans. Before she knows it, Maddie’s dad is dragging her to a cabin in the middle of the…

Read More

Good Dog by Dan Gemeinhart

The acclaimed author of The Honest Truth delivers his most emotionally powerful novel yet. Brodie was a good dog. And good dogs go to heaven. Except Brodie can’t move on. Not just yet. As wonderful as his glimpse of the afterlife is, he can’t forget the boy he left behind. The boy he loved, and who loved him in return. The boy who’s still in danger. So Brodie breaks the rules of heaven. He returns to Earth as a spirit.…

Read More

Whatshisface by Gordon Korman

Gordon Korman’s next stand-alone novel, a fun, funny ghost story about a nobody kid who becomes a somebody while helping a ghost right a wrong from the past.   When 12-year-old Cooper Vega moves for the third time in five years, he receives a state-of-the-art smartphone to help him stay in touch with old friends. He’s had phones before, but this one is buggy and unpredictable. When a boy named Roderick Northrop communicates with him through the phone, Cooper realizes…

Read More

The Traitor’s Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Kestra Dallisor has spent three years in exile in the Lava Fields, but that won’t stop her from being drawn back into her father’s palace politics. He’s second-in-command to the cruel king, Lord Endrick, which makes Kestra a valuable bargaining chip. A group of rebels knows this — and they snatch Kestra from her carriage as she reluctantly travels home. The kidnappers want her to retrieve the lost Olden Blade, the only object that can destroy the king, but Kestra…

Read More

The Frame-Up by Wendy McLeod MacKnight

When budding artist Sargent Singer discovers that the paintings in his father’s gallery are alive, he’s pulled into a world he never knew existed. With devious plots, shady characters, and grand art heists, this inventive mystery adventure celebrates art and artists and is perfect for fans of Night at the Museum and Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer. Rule #1: Don’t let anyone know the paintings are alive. Thirteen-year-old Mona Dunn has adhered to that rule for almost one hundred years, ever…

Read More

The Truth As Told By Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor

A poignant and humorous middle grade contemporary novel from Leslie Connor, acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook. Mason Buttle struggles in school and is suspected of having done something wrong to cause his best friend’s death. Mason Buttle is the biggest, sweatiest kid in his grade, and everyone knows he can barely read or write. Mason’s learning disabilities are compounded by grief. Fifteen months ago, Mason’s best friend, Benny Kilmartin, turned…

Read More

The Book Of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz’s The Inquisitor’s Tale and Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon. Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a large hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is…

Read More

The Sky At Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi

A young boy fears that his mother, an illegal immigrant from Afghanistan, has been deported, and he runs away to New York City to find help. A timely and poignant story about contemporary Muslims by the acclaimed author of One Half from the East. In the tradition of Rebecca Stead and Thanhha Lai, this adventurous and emotionally charged own voices novel by New York Times bestselling author Nadia Hashimi shows the fierce love of a family determined not to be…

Read More

In this suspenseful, gripping novel, teen twin girls raised separately meet for the first time at their mother’s funeral. Quinn has been trained to never tell a lie. Piper is a practiced liar. Narrated in both voices, the story of their quest to learn truths that have been concealed from them is shadowed by a dark spell that beckons them to run at night with a pack of murdering ghost hounds. Suspense, menace, mystery, witchcraft, family secrets, mistaken identity, and…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field