Staff Picks

Five Elements: The Emerald Tablet by Dan Jolley

I name myself water. I name myself air. I name myself earth. I name myself fire. When Gabe and his friends find a strange old map in his uncle’s office, follow it to a crumbling secret chamber beneath San Francisco, and perform a ritual that promises to bind them together forever, they think they’re just having one last adventure before Gabe moves away. It’s not like they believe the “power of the elements” is real. But then things begin to…

Read More

Pete The Cat And The Missing Cupcakes by James Dean

Pete the Cat and his friends have a mystery to solve. Who is stealing their cupcakes? Pete the Cat and his friends are baking cupcakes for a cupcake party. But, oh no! Some of the cupcakes have gone missing! Who could have taken them? In this latest Pete the Cat picture book adventure, Pete and the gang solve the mystery of the missing cupcakes and learn that it’s cool to be kind.

Read More

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

Sabriel meets Romeo and Juliet in this stunning and atmospheric novel about a doomed world and the only two people who can discover the secrets to saving it—from the author of Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound.   When the mysterious fog of the Ruining crept over the world, the living died and the dead rose. Only the walled city of Viyara was left untouched. The heirs of the city’s most powerful—and warring—families, Mahyanai Romeo and Juliet Catresou share a love…

Read More

One Half from The East by Nadia Hashimi

Internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is an emotional, beautiful, and riveting coming-of-age journey to modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.   Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune. Her father lost one of his legs in a bomb explosion, forcing the family to move from their home city of Kabul to a small village, where life is very different and Obayda’s father almost never…

Read More

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

What if, to become queen, you had to kill your two sisters in order to take the crown? A dark fantasy about three sisters-triplets-each with her own magic, who were separated when young but will meet again on their 16th birthday when they will fight to the death to be Queen. Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella…

Read More

Left Out by Tim Green

A heartfelt and moving novel from former NFL player and New York Times bestselling author Tim Green about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. All Landon Dorch has ever wanted was to be like everyone else. His deafness and the way he talks have been obstacles all his life. But now, he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new…

Read More

Plant The Tiny Seed by Christie Matheson

Just as she did in Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, Christie Matheson combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Beautiful collage and watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of…

Read More

The Ethan I Was Before by Ali Standish

Ali Standish’s middle grade novel is a charming and captivating story about friendship, grief, and forgiveness. After Ethan loses his best friend and moves from Boston to small-town Georgia, he discovers that life can be transformed in one moment, but that one moment doesn’t have to define him for life.Ethan had been many things: Adventurer. Boston Red Sox fan. Sidekick to his big brother, Roddie. Coconsipirator with his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident and the…

Read More

Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly’s third novel for tweens is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, andfinding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree. In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset,…

Read More

Moo by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s new novel, told in a mix of poetry and prose, follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow, named Zora. It’s a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. When twelve-year-old Reena, her little brother, Luke, and her parents move from the city to rural…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field