Staff Picks

A Very Large Expanse Of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series comes a gorgeous and heartrending contemporary novel inspired by her own experiences with first love, breakdancing, and the devastating impact of prejudice. It’s 2002, a year after 9/11, and Shirin has just started at yet another school. It’s an extremely turbulent time for the world, but especially for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped. Shirin is never surprised…

Read More

She’s Got This by Laurie Hernandez

From bestselling author of I Got This and Olympic gold medalist Laurie Hernandez comes a fictional picture book about a little girl gymnast who dreams of making it big. This fictional story—inspired by parts of Laurie’s real life—is about a young girl named Zoe who sees a famous gymnast performing on TV and decides she wants to fly just like her. Zoe begs her parents to start her in gymnastics classes, and she quickly learns to tumble and roll and…

Read More

Shadow Of The Fox by Julie Kagawa

Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shapeshifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons…a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together to create a brand-new and lushly drawn fantasy adventure from the New York Times bestselling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for…

Read More

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening standalone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep. He’ll follow you home, and he won’t let you sleep. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: the new girl. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure…

Read More

Broken Things by Lauren Oliver

In this standalone teen novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver weaves a tale of mystery and murder as two girls grapple with the terrors of their past and uncover the truth about their friend’s murder. It’s been five years since Summer Marks was brutally murdered in the woods. Everyone thinks that Mia and Brynn killed their best friend, driven by their obsession with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn, a magical world that the three girls imagined…

Read More

A Parade Of Elephants by Kevin Henkes

New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five joyful elephants as they march from dawn till dusk in this engaging picture book for the very youngest readers. Perfect for story time as well as bedtime.Up and down, over and under, through and around . . . five big and brightly colored elephants are on a mission in this picture book for young children by Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes. Where are they going? What will they do when they…

Read More

Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech delivers an uplifting novel about a boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health. It’s a touching tale about the transformative power of love, friendship, and letting go. Louie doesn’t have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures—not even lightning bugs, worms, or goldfish. So when his father brings him a sickly, newborn mini donkey, he’s determined to save him and gives him the name Winslow. And…

Read More

When Elephants Fly by Nancy Richardson Fischer

With themes of animal rights, mental health and coming of age. Adult crossover, perfect for reading groups. A teen is predisposed to mental illness. But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can’t abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save…

Read More

Opposite Of Innocent by Sonya Sones

A cautionary tale about a girl trapped in a sexually abusive relationship. What starts as a brushing of lips, over weeks, turns into so much more. At first Lily enjoys the secrecy and danger of what she’s doing, but when Luke begins to expect-and demand-more, Lily realizes she’s in way over her head. Luke becomes possessive, threatening, and frightful, while Lily becomes withdrawn, depressed, and ill A heartbreaking story, of a girl’s terrifying jump into young adulthood, through the abuse…

Read More

12 Before 13 by Lisa Greenwald

Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will ADORE the second book in acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald’s duology about two best friends who master middle school with a bucket list of twelve things they need to achieve before they FINALLY become teenagers! Inspired by the success of their first birthday bucket list, Ari and her BFF, Kaylan, set twelve new goals for the new school year. And this time? They’re totes not forgetting to focus on their friendship. But after…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field