8-12

The Star Thief by Lindsey Becker

The constellations come to life in this imaginative fantasy adventure debut.   Honorine’s life as a maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia’s study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night…. Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship…

Read More

Nothing Up My Sleeve by Diana Lopez

From beloved author Diana López comes an exciting middle grade story about three friends, a magic competition, and how far they’ll go to succeed. Sixth graders Dominic, Loop, and Z stumble upon a new magic shop in town and can’t wait to spend their summer mastering cool tricks to gain access to the Vault, a key holders-only back room bound to hold all kinds of secrets. And once they get in, they set their sights even higher: a huge competition…

Read More

Midnight Without Moon by Linda Williams Jackson

It’s Mississippi in the summer of 1955, and Rose Lee Carter can’t wait to move north. But for now, she’s living with her sharecropper grandparents on a white man’s cotton plantation. Then, one town over, an African American boy, Emmett Till, is killed for allegedly whistling at a white woman. When Till’s murderers are unjustly acquitted, Rose realizes that the South needs a change . . . and that she should be part of the movement. Linda Jackson’s moving debut…

Read More

Forever, Or For A Long, Long Time by Caela Carter

An achingly beautiful story in the vein of Rebecca Stead and R. J. Palacio about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home.   Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever. So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey…

Read More

One Amazing Elephant by Linda Oatman High

In this beautifully written, poignant middle grade novel, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan, Lily mourns the death of her grandfather with the help of his circus elephant, Queenie Grace.   Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s elephant, Queenie Grace. Queenie Grace, a circus elephant, is happy to…

Read More

Foxheart by Claire Legrand

For fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones, Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . . . even if it means risking your heart. Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox—and Sly Boots, the shy boy who…

Read More

Mice Of The Round Table: A Tail Of Camelot

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice. Young mouse Calib Christopher dreams of the day when he will become a Knight of Camelot like his father and grandfather before him. For generations, Calib’s family has lived among the mice that dwell in Camelot, along with the human Knights of the Round Table, defending the castle they all call home.…

Read More

Five Elements: The Emerald Tablet by Dan Jolley

I name myself water. I name myself air. I name myself earth. I name myself fire. When Gabe and his friends find a strange old map in his uncle’s office, follow it to a crumbling secret chamber beneath San Francisco, and perform a ritual that promises to bind them together forever, they think they’re just having one last adventure before Gabe moves away. It’s not like they believe the “power of the elements” is real. But then things begin to…

Read More

One Half from The East by Nadia Hashimi

Internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is an emotional, beautiful, and riveting coming-of-age journey to modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.   Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune. Her father lost one of his legs in a bomb explosion, forcing the family to move from their home city of Kabul to a small village, where life is very different and Obayda’s father almost never…

Read More

Left Out by Tim Green

A heartfelt and moving novel from former NFL player and New York Times bestselling author Tim Green about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. All Landon Dorch has ever wanted was to be like everyone else. His deafness and the way he talks have been obstacles all his life. But now, he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field