8-12

Stand On The Sky by Erin Bow

An exquisitely written, uplifting middle grade debut by acclaimed author, Erin Bow, about a young girl who defies her family’s expectations in order to save her brother and become an eagle hunter, perfect for fans of PAX. It goes against all tradition for Aisulu to train an eagle, for among the Kazakh nomads, only men can fly them. But everything changes when Aisulu discovers that her brother, Serik, has been concealing a bad limp that risks not just his future…

Read More

Nowhere Boy by Katherine Marsh

When all seems lost, real heroes can be found. Fourteen-year-old Ahmed is stuck in a city that wants nothing to do with him. Newly arrived in Brussels, Belgium, Ahmed fled a life of uncertainty and suffering in Syria, only to lose his father on the perilous journey to the shores of Europe. Now Ahmed’s struggling to get by on his own, but with no one left to trust and nowhere to go, he’s starting to lose hope. Then he meets…

Read More

The Story Collector by Kristin O’Donnell Tubb

The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Harriet the Spy in this middle-grade historical fiction novel inspired by the real life of Viviani Joffre Fedeler, born and raised in the New York Public Library. Eleven-year-old Viviani Fedeler grew up surrounded by books, but now she’s ready for her own story to begin. As the daughter of the Library superintendent, Viviani has explored every nook, cranny, and room—except the ones her father keeps locked. When Viviani suspects that the…

Read More

To Night Owl From Dogfish by Holly Goldberg Sloan

From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters. Avery Bloom, who’s bookish, intense, and afraid of many things, particularly deep water, lives in New York City. Bett Devlin, who’s fearless, outgoing, and loves all animals as well as the ocean, lives in California. What they have in common is that they are both twelve years old, and are both being raised by single, gay dads. When their dads…

Read More

Fenway And Hattie Up To New Tricks by Victoria J. Coe

Fenway’s favorite short human, Hattie, has a few tricks up her sleeves in this adorable and heartwarming paperback, perfect for fans of Humphrey and Og, the Frog. Fenway has two jobs. He must love and care for his best friend and favorite short human, Hattie. And he must protect his human family, especially from the thieving chipmunks. The chipmunks strut around like they own the place but Fenway will not have it. He begins a daring chase to get rid…

Read More

The Next Great Paulie Fink by Ali Benjamin

In this highly anticipated second novel by the author of the award-winning, bestselling The Thing About Jellyfish, being the new kid at school isn’t easy, especially when you have to follow in the footsteps of a classroom prankster like Paulie Fink. When Caitlyn Breen enters the tiny Mitchell School in rural Mitchell, Vermont, she is a complete outsider: the seventh grade has just ten other kids, and they’ve known each other since kindergarten. Her classmates are in for a shock…

Read More

Because Of The Rabbit by Cynthia Lord

Newbery Honor-winning author Cynthia Lord has written a sensitive and accessible book about the challenges of fitting in when you know you’re a little different. On the last night of summer, Emma tags along with her game warden father on a routine call. They’re supposed to rescue a wild rabbit from a picket fence, but instead they find a little bunny. Emma convinces her father to bring him home for the night. The next day, Emma starts public school for…

Read More

Chicken Talk by Patricia MacLachlan and illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

From Newbery Medal–winning author Patricia MacLachlan and New York Times bestselling illustrator Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes a cheeky and heartwarming picture book about chickens who scratch messages around the farm for their humans to find—resulting in surprise, chaos, and plenty of fun. The chickens on the farm have a lot to say to their farm owners! They’re tired of arugula salad; HEY—watch out for that snake in your tent!; and We love you. As the children walk around their beloved…

Read More

The Unteachables by Gordon Korman

A hilarious new novel from bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—and they end up saving each other. Perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day. The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in this class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables…

Read More

Knights VS. Dinosaurs by Matt Phelan

From acclaimed author and artist Matt Phelan, Knights vs. Dinosaurs is a hilarious, rip-roaring tale of derring-do. In this heavily illustrated middle grade adventure, the Knights of the Round Table take on their most dangerous opponents yet—DINOSAURS! In a starred review, Kirkus said, “Epic—in plot not length—and as wise and wonderful as Gerald Morris’ Arthurian exploits.”Let me tell you a secret about the Knights of the Round Table: they don’t actually have much to do. The realm is at peace…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field