8-12

Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech delivers an uplifting novel about a boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health. It’s a touching tale about the transformative power of love, friendship, and letting go. Louie doesn’t have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures—not even lightning bugs, worms, or goldfish. So when his father brings him a sickly, newborn mini donkey, he’s determined to save him and gives him the name Winslow. And…

Read More

12 Before 13 by Lisa Greenwald

Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will ADORE the second book in acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald’s duology about two best friends who master middle school with a bucket list of twelve things they need to achieve before they FINALLY become teenagers! Inspired by the success of their first birthday bucket list, Ari and her BFF, Kaylan, set twelve new goals for the new school year. And this time? They’re totes not forgetting to focus on their friendship. But after…

Read More

Cats VS. Robots: This Is War by Margaret Stohl

The Robotic Federation is in a race against of The Great Feline Empire. They are both looking for a chip, one which will never have to be charged and can extend the life of cats beyond 9 lives. Pounce de Lion from Planet Felines is on his way to earth to retrieve the chip that is in the home of the Furless/Two-leggers Wengrod family, which is being watched over by next door neighbor cat OBI. Meanwhile Max Wengord finds 2…

Read More

Mascot by Antony John

In this funny and heartfelt middle grade stand-alone novel perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, a boy struggles to come to terms with his new reality after a devastating accident leaves him in a wheelchair. Noah Savino has been in a wheelchair for months—ever since the car accident that left him paralyzed and took his father’s life. Noah hates that he doesn’t feel like himself anymore and is afraid that when people look at him, they’ll…

Read More

Voyage Of The Dogs by Greg Van EEkhout

It’s Homeward Bound—set in space! This middle grade adventure about a pack of specially trained astronaut dogs who must survive a disastrous mission is a must-read for tweens, parents, and animal lovers alike. SOS. Laika damaged. Human crew missing. We are the dogs. We are alone. Lopside is a Barkonaut—a specially trained dog who assists human astronauts on missions in space. He, Champion, Bug, and Daisy are the canine crew aboard the spaceship Laika, en route to set up an…

Read More

The Frame-Up by Wendy McLeod MacKnight

When budding artist Sargent Singer discovers that the paintings in his father’s gallery are alive, he’s pulled into a world he never knew existed. With devious plots, shady characters, and grand art heists, this inventive mystery adventure celebrates art and artists and is perfect for fans of Night at the Museum and Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer. Rule #1: Don’t let anyone know the paintings are alive. Thirteen-year-old Mona Dunn has adhered to that rule for almost one hundred years, ever…

Read More

Good Dog by Dan Gemeinhart

The acclaimed author of The Honest Truth delivers his most emotionally powerful novel yet. Brodie was a good dog. And good dogs go to heaven. Except Brodie can’t move on. Not just yet. As wonderful as his glimpse of the afterlife is, he can’t forget the boy he left behind. The boy he loved, and who loved him in return. The boy who’s still in danger. So Brodie breaks the rules of heaven. He returns to Earth as a spirit.…

Read More

Whatshisface by Gordon Korman

Gordon Korman’s next stand-alone novel, a fun, funny ghost story about a nobody kid who becomes a somebody while helping a ghost right a wrong from the past.   When 12-year-old Cooper Vega moves for the third time in five years, he receives a state-of-the-art smartphone to help him stay in touch with old friends. He’s had phones before, but this one is buggy and unpredictable. When a boy named Roderick Northrop communicates with him through the phone, Cooper realizes…

Read More

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Welcome to The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic collection of fairy tales to save her mother. Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate…

Read More

Bob by Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead

A classic middle-grade tale of magic and friendship, about a girl who helps an old friend find home, by two New York Times–bestselling authors Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead. It’s been five years since Livy and her family have visited Livy’s grandmother in Australia. Now that she’s back, Livy has the feeling she’s forgotten something really, really important about Gran’s house. It turns out she’s right. Bob, a short, greenish creature dressed in a chicken suit, didn’t forget Livy, or…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field