8-12

One Amazing Elephant by Linda Oatman High

In this beautifully written, poignant middle grade novel, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan, Lily mourns the death of her grandfather with the help of his circus elephant, Queenie Grace.   Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s elephant, Queenie Grace. Queenie Grace, a circus elephant, is happy to…

Read More

Foxheart by Claire Legrand

For fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones, Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . . . even if it means risking your heart. Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox—and Sly Boots, the shy boy who…

Read More

Mice Of The Round Table: A Tail Of Camelot

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice. Young mouse Calib Christopher dreams of the day when he will become a Knight of Camelot like his father and grandfather before him. For generations, Calib’s family has lived among the mice that dwell in Camelot, along with the human Knights of the Round Table, defending the castle they all call home.…

Read More

Five Elements: The Emerald Tablet by Dan Jolley

I name myself water. I name myself air. I name myself earth. I name myself fire. When Gabe and his friends find a strange old map in his uncle’s office, follow it to a crumbling secret chamber beneath San Francisco, and perform a ritual that promises to bind them together forever, they think they’re just having one last adventure before Gabe moves away. It’s not like they believe the “power of the elements” is real. But then things begin to…

Read More

One Half from The East by Nadia Hashimi

Internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is an emotional, beautiful, and riveting coming-of-age journey to modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.   Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune. Her father lost one of his legs in a bomb explosion, forcing the family to move from their home city of Kabul to a small village, where life is very different and Obayda’s father almost never…

Read More

Left Out by Tim Green

A heartfelt and moving novel from former NFL player and New York Times bestselling author Tim Green about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. All Landon Dorch has ever wanted was to be like everyone else. His deafness and the way he talks have been obstacles all his life. But now, he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new…

Read More

Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly’s third novel for tweens is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, andfinding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree. In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset,…

Read More

Moo by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s new novel, told in a mix of poetry and prose, follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow, named Zora. It’s a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. When twelve-year-old Reena, her little brother, Luke, and her parents move from the city to rural…

Read More

The Poet’s Dog by Patricia MacLachlan

From Newbery Medal winner Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant story about two children, a poet, and a dog and how they help each other survive loss and recapture love.Teddy is a gifted dog. Raised in a cabin by a poet named Sylvan, he grew up listening to sonnets read aloud and the clicking of a keyboard. Teddy understands words, but Sylvan always told him there’s only two kinds of people in the world who can hear him: poets and children.Then…

Read More

Grandpa’s Great Escape by David Walliams

Something strange is happening in Alfie’s town. Instead of shiny coins from the tooth fairy, kids are waking up to disgusting, icky, TERRIBLE things under their pillows. Dead slugs. Live spiders. Hundreds of creepy, crawly earwigs! Who would do something so horrific? It couldn’t be Miss Root, the new dentist in town, could it? Alfie is determined to solve this mystery—but if he wants to stop the demon dentist, he may have to book an appointment with Miss Root! Full…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field