8-12

Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly’s third novel for tweens is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, andfinding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree. In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset,…

Read More

Moo by Sharon Creech

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s new novel, told in a mix of poetry and prose, follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow, named Zora. It’s a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises. When twelve-year-old Reena, her little brother, Luke, and her parents move from the city to rural…

Read More

The Poet’s Dog by Patricia MacLachlan

From Newbery Medal winner Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant story about two children, a poet, and a dog and how they help each other survive loss and recapture love.Teddy is a gifted dog. Raised in a cabin by a poet named Sylvan, he grew up listening to sonnets read aloud and the clicking of a keyboard. Teddy understands words, but Sylvan always told him there’s only two kinds of people in the world who can hear him: poets and children.Then…

Read More

Grandpa’s Great Escape by David Walliams

Something strange is happening in Alfie’s town. Instead of shiny coins from the tooth fairy, kids are waking up to disgusting, icky, TERRIBLE things under their pillows. Dead slugs. Live spiders. Hundreds of creepy, crawly earwigs! Who would do something so horrific? It couldn’t be Miss Root, the new dentist in town, could it? Alfie is determined to solve this mystery—but if he wants to stop the demon dentist, he may have to book an appointment with Miss Root! Full…

Read More

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There’s no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again. Crenshaw is a cat. He’s large, he’s outspoken, and he’s imaginary. He has come back into Jackson’s life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything? Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that…

Read More

Upside-Down Magic by Sarah Mlynowski, Lauren Myracle and Emily Jenkins

It’s never easy when your magic goes wonky. For Nory, this means that instead of being able to turn into a dragon or a kitten, she turns into both of them at the same time – a dritten. For Elliott, the simple act of conjuring fire from his fingertips turns in a fully frozen failure. For Andres, wonky magic means he’s always floating in the air, bouncing off the walls, or floating on the ceiling. For Bax, a bad moment…

Read More

Drama by Raina Telgemeier, reviewed by Ian Hidalgo

Drama is a great book if you are into graphic novels. The main character Callie is stage crew with her good friend Liz for the school play of Moon Over Mississippi. When she was pinning the flyer for Moon Over Mississippi on the flyer board two brothers named Justin and Jesse came over to look at the flyer. With Callie, Justin and Jesse becoming friends now and Justin in the play, Jesse joins stage crew. A long time later….It’s the…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field