8-12

The Frame-Up by Wendy McLeod MacKnight

When budding artist Sargent Singer discovers that the paintings in his father’s gallery are alive, he’s pulled into a world he never knew existed. With devious plots, shady characters, and grand art heists, this inventive mystery adventure celebrates art and artists and is perfect for fans of Night at the Museum and Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer. Rule #1: Don’t let anyone know the paintings are alive. Thirteen-year-old Mona Dunn has adhered to that rule for almost one hundred years, ever…

Read More

The Truth As Told By Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor

A poignant and humorous middle grade contemporary novel from Leslie Connor, acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook. Mason Buttle struggles in school and is suspected of having done something wrong to cause his best friend’s death. Mason Buttle is the biggest, sweatiest kid in his grade, and everyone knows he can barely read or write. Mason’s learning disabilities are compounded by grief. Fifteen months ago, Mason’s best friend, Benny Kilmartin, turned…

Read More

The Book Of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock. This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz’s The Inquisitor’s Tale and Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon. Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a large hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is…

Read More

The Sky At Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi

A young boy fears that his mother, an illegal immigrant from Afghanistan, has been deported, and he runs away to New York City to find help. A timely and poignant story about contemporary Muslims by the acclaimed author of One Half from the East. In the tradition of Rebecca Stead and Thanhha Lai, this adventurous and emotionally charged own voices novel by New York Times bestselling author Nadia Hashimi shows the fierce love of a family determined not to be…

Read More

Riders Of The Realm: Across The Dark Water by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

The first book in a brand-new trilogy from the author of the Guardian Herd series, where Landwalkers (aka humans) rule in this new lush and perilous jungle world. Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live amongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe. Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free,…

Read More

Ice Wolves: Elementals Book One by Amie Kaufman

The first book in an electrifying new fantasy series about children who can shape shift into scorch dragons and ice wolves. Ice wolves and scorch dragons can’t possibly be related: the two groups are sworn enemies. When twins Anders and Rayna learn they have opposite powers, they must question their loyalty to each other and the true meaning of family. These rich identity struggles are seamlessly interwoven with high-stakes action. Great world-building and setting – plus protagonists as well as…

Read More

Float by Laura Martin

Seven kids spend the summer at camp. Each kid as a life altering quirk, Emerson, floats in the air like a balloon, Hank disappears like an inviable man, Murphy, time travels, and so on. Camp Kryptonite is devoted to giving these kids a true camp experience and the kids totally bond while there. This is just a fun and delightful story about working together, growing up and not letting life get you down. Middle grade adventure about alienation; discrimination; action…

Read More

Checked by Cynthia Kadohata

From Newbery Medalist Cynthia Kadohata comes a brilliantly realized sports novel about a hockey player who must discover who he is without the sport that defines him. Hockey is Conor’s life. His whole life. He’ll say it himself, he’s a hockey beast. It’s his dad’s whole life too—and Conor is sure that’s why his stepmom, Jenny, left. There are very few things Conor and his dad love more than the game, and one of those things is their Doberman, Sinbad.…

Read More

The Whole Sky by Heather Henson

When a devastating sickness spreads through a thoroughbred farm community, a young horse whisperer is determined to find out why all the foals are dying in this tightly woven, tender coming-of-age novel from award-winning author Heather Henson. Twelve-year-old Sky and her father are horse whisperers—their preternatural tenderness and understanding of horses, and Sky’s uncanny ability to actually understand what they’re saying become their livelihood during the foaling season at multimillion dollar horse farms. They’re sought after by the most prestigious…

Read More

The Mad Wolf’s Daughter by Diane Magras

A Scottish medieval adventure about the youngest in a war-band who must free her family from a castle prison after knights attack her home—with all the excitement of Ranger’s Apprentice and perfect for fans of heroines like Alanna from The Song of the Lioness series. One dark night, Drest’s sheltered life on a remote Scottish headland is shattered when invading knights capture her family, but leave Drest behind. Her father, the Mad Wolf of the North, and her beloved brothers…

Read More
About Us

Linda's Story Time is a full service, independent book store located in Monroe, CT. We specialize in children’s books from ages 0-18. In addition, we offer an newly expanded adult section for an eclectic mix of the best fiction and nonfiction books and other special gifts for the book lover on your list!

Find Us

447 Monroe Turnpike
Monroe, CT 06468
ph. 203-459-1579

Sign Up For Our Email List

Stay up to date with Linda's Story Time by subscribing to our email list.

* = required field