Payday Loans Payday Loans


The Poet’s Dog by Patricia MacLachlan

March 20th, 2017

From Newbery Medal winner Patricia MacLachlan comes a poignant story about two children, a poet, and a dog and how they help each other survive loss and recapture love.poets-dog.png

Teddy is a gifted dog. Raised in a cabin by a poet named Sylvan, he grew up listening to sonnets read aloud and the clicking of a keyboard. Teddy understands words, but Sylvan always told him there’s only two kinds of people in the world who can hear him: poets and children.

Then one day Teddy learns that Sylvan was right. When Teddy finds Nickel and Flora trapped in a snowstorm, he tells them that he will bring them home—and they understand him. The children are afraid of the howling wind but are not frightened by Teddy’s words. They follow him to a cabin in the woods, where the dog used to live with Sylvan.

Once they have shelter, the three of them build a fire and wait for the sky to clear. Over the course of the storm, they will discover what Sylvan has left behind—cans of food, photographs, and an old weather box—but in a home filled with memories, can they also help each other find what they have lost?

Moo by Sharon Creech

March 20th, 2017

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s new novel, told in a mix of poetry and prose, follows one family’s move to rural Maine and the surprising connection between a girl and one very ornery cow, named Zora. It’s a lovely and uplifting story of how a little kindness can change lives, reminding us that if you’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises.
moo.png

When twelve-year-old Reena, her little brother, Luke, and her parents move from the city to rural Maine, Reena doesn’t know what to expect. She’s ready for beaches and blueberries and all the lobster she can eat. Instead, she faces many changes and miles of farmland. And she definitely doesn’t imagine that a very ornery cow named Zora might enter her life. But that’s just what she gets when her parents “volunteer” her and Luke to work for their eccentric neighbor, Mrs. Falala. What begins as farm chores turns to fun as she and Luke take care of Zora and the other animals—a pig named Paulie, a cat named China, and a snake named Edna—and discover that even the most stubborn and short-tempered of beings can, with time, turn into true friends.

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech delivers a poignant, funny, and charming novel about the bonds that emerge when we let others into our

Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

March 20th, 2017

Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly’s third novel for tweens is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt’s Fish in a Tree.hello-universe.JPG

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister Gen is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

The Ethan I Was Before by Ali Standish

March 20th, 2017

Stirring and poignant, this is a standout debut!

Ali Standish’s middle grade novel is a charming and captivating story about friendship, grief, and forgiveness. After Ethan loses his best friend and moves from Boston to small-town Georgia, he discovers that life can be transformed in one moment, but that one moment doesn’t have to define him for life.
ethan-i-was.png

Ethan had been many things: Adventurer. Boston Red Sox fan. Sidekick to his big brother, Roddie. Coconsipirator with his best friend, Kacey.

But that was before. Before the accident and the great loss that filled his life. Before his family moved from Boston to the small beachside town of Palm Knot, Georgia.

Palm Knot may be tiny, but it’s home to possibility and second chances. It’s also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. A girl who may be just the friend Ethan needs. But Ethan isn’t the only one with secrets, and Coralee’s are catching up with her. Ethan must decide if he can trust Coralee, or if what she’s hiding might be putting both their lives at risk.

Plant The Tiny Seed by Christie Matheson

March 20th, 2017

In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, Christie Matheson once again masterfully shows the true interactivity of a page turn by following a tiny seed as it is planted, watered, and grows into a beautiful flower.

Just as she did in Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, Christie Matheson combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Beautiful collage and watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of buzzing bees, curious hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies. Though appropriate for even the youngest child, this book will be a classroom hit—zinnias are a popular and easy-to-grow choice for science curriculums. A page of facts about seeds, flowers, and the insects and animals featured in the book is included at the end.plant.png

Forever, Or A Long Long Time by Caela Carter

March 20th, 2017

An achingly beautiful story in the vein of Rebecca Stead and R. J. Palacio about two foster children who want desperately to believe that they’ve found their forever home.

Flora and her brother, Julian, don’t believe they were born. They’ve lived in so many foster homes, they can’t remember where they came from. And even now that they’ve been adopted, Flora still struggles to believe in forever. So along with their new mother, Flora and Julian begin a journey to go back and discover their past—for only then can they really begin to build their future.forever.JPG

A Boy Called Bat by Elana K. Arnold

March 20th, 2017

A Boy Called Bat is the first book in a funny, heartfelt, and irresistible young chapter book series about a boy on the autism spectrum.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life tends to be full of surprises—some of them good, some not so good. Today, though, is a good-surprise day. Bat’s mom, a veterinarian, has brought home a stray baby skunk, which she needs to take care of until she can hand him over to a wild-animal shelter.
But the minute Bat meets the kit, he knows they belong together. And he’s got one month to show his mom that a baby skunk might just make a pretty terrific pet.
From acclaimed author Elana K. Arnold comes a story of first friendship starring an unforgettable young boy on the autism spectrum.boy-called-bat.jpg

One Amazing Elephant by Linda Oatman High

March 20th, 2017

In this beautifully written, poignant middle grade novel, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan, Lily mourns the death of her grandfather with the help of his circus elephant, Queenie Grace.

Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s elephant, Queenie Grace.
Queenie Grace, a circus elephant, is happy to have Grandpa Bill as her keeper. She has had cruel keepers in the past, but Bill is her friend and treats her with love and respect. She doesn’t quite understand Lily, who is so afraid of her.Then Grandpa Bill dies, and both Lily and Queenie Grace are devastated. When Lily travels to Florida for the funeral, she keeps her distance from the elephant. But the two are mourning the same man—and form a bond born of loss. And when Queenie Grace faces danger, Lily must come up with a plan to help save her friend.
Alternating between the points of view of Lily and Queenie Grace, this affecting novel brings readers to the very heart of two characters—one two-footed, one four-footed—who ache, heal, love, and find the value of an unlikely friendship.one-amazing-elephant.jpg

Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth

March 20th, 2017

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.
carve-the-mark.jpgOn a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

May 17th, 2016

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic. For humans, it’s an unforgiving place, especially if you’re poor, orphaned, or female.

Amani A’Hiza is all three. She’s a gifted gunslinger with perfect aim, but she can’t shoot her way out of Dustwalk, the back-country town where she’s destined to wind up wed or dead.

Then she meets Jin, a rakish foreigner, in a shooting contest, and she sees him as the perfect escape route. But though she’s spent years dreaming of escaping Dustwalk, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse - or that it would take a fugitive to show her the heart of the desert she thought she knew.

Rebels Of The Sands reveals what happens when a dream deferred explodes - in the fires of rebellion, the smolder of romantic passion, and the all-consuming inferno of a girl finally, at long last, embracing her power.